A brief summary of EuPhO 2020

Dear students, leaders, observers, visitors, and all who took part in the preparation of this Olympiad,

The intense week of EuPhO 2020 has successfully ended. The online format was a new experience for all of us, and we are happy to say that it went well. We didn’t have any technical problems – something that is quite rare in this type of undertaking. On Monday and Tuesday, we had the theoretical and experimental rounds respectively, with starting times that were different depending on which parts of the world the students were. During that time the Zoom meeting was up and running for 28 hours in total. This was probably one of the largest and longest Zoom meetings ever held.

53 countries participated in EuPhO 2020, with 260 students in total. We hope that you enjoyed the problems and are happy with your results. Maybe some of you did not fully express your skills this time, but you learned new things about physics and new ways to tackle tough problems.

Thank You all who worked hard for the success of this Olympiad. Thank You Students for participating and congratulations to the winners!

The list of participating countries

Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Georgia, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vietnam.

Medals and prizes awarded

10 special prizes, 27 gold medals, 49 silver medals, 60 bronze medals, 40 honourable mentions. EuPhO 2020 results


Head of the examinations: Barbara Roos.
Her helpers: Nicolà Gantenbein, Rael Kalda, Erki Leht, Nata-Ly Pantšenko, Jürgen Rajasalu, Sebastian Stengele, plus several leaders and observers.

Simulation codes

Codes for experiments were written by Richard Luhtaru, Taavet Kalda, Paul Stanley.

Team of graders

Alwaleed Aldirgham, Thomas Bergamaschi, Petra Brčić, Gabriel Capelo, Eugen Dizer, Stefan Dolteanu, Ivan Erofeev, Thomas Foster, Gabriel Golfetti, Kaarel Hänni, Samarth Hawaldar, Jānis Hūns, Victor Ivanov, Joonas Kalda, Jaan Kalda, Vyacheslavs Kashcheyevs, Batuhan KESKİN, Arina Kuznetsova, Oliver Lindström, Richard Luhtaru, Vladimir Malinovskii, Roberto Marín, Lev Melnikovsky, Tan Nguyen, Stefan Petersen, Prathyush Poduval, Nikita Poljakov, Elvinas Ribinskas, Barbara Roos, Johannes Rothe, Kirill Shiyanov, Päivo Simson, Prakhar Singh, Paul Stanley, Erik Sünderhauf, Krisztián Szász, Gábor Széchenyi, Damiano Tietto, Siddharth Tiwary, Jaan Toots, Đức Huy Trần, Xuân Tùng Trần, Ivan Uteshev, Máté Vigh, Ilia Zykov.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *